Author Topic: ICQ and unofficial messengers?  (Read 7456 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline the Dark LordTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 0
ICQ and unofficial messengers?
« on: 26 12 2018, 13:48:17 »
Hi there... I just got this message (in the attachement)
What the hell it means? Shall I be worried or will the Miranda still works?
Thanks.

The ICQ UIN from which the message came is 70105
 

Offline Maverick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
Re: ICQ and unofficial messengers?
« Reply #1 on: 26 12 2018, 19:18:54 »
A Friend got that also, so did i.

Seems legit to me.

I hope the Devs (no matter if its Miranda, Pidgin, Trillian) will be able to hook into it. When they are not able, i think i will have to quit ICQ after around 20 Years of usage. We will see what will happen. When they change Protocol add not going to provide a API, there will be no Way to keep ICQ supported. Unless someone wants to Reverse Code Engineer the official Client and this is illegal.
« Last Edit: 26 12 2018, 19:28:44 by Maverick »
 

Offline Vulpix

  • Beta Tester
  • *****
  • Posts: 600
  • Country: 00
  • Karma: 15
Re: ICQ and unofficial messengers?
« Reply #2 on: 26 12 2018, 20:26:34 »
I think new ICQ is already being worked on (or maybe it already works?) @Ghazan has been committing past few days.
 

Offline dartraiden

  • Beta Tester
  • *****
  • Posts: 759
  • Country: ru
  • Karma: 26
  • Version Info
Re:ICQ and unofficial messengers?
« Reply #3 on: 26 12 2018, 20:42:13 »
Just update to latest dev version and you get new ICQ protocol.

It currently supports only sending and receiving messages so you can only chat with contacts that are already on your list.

Stable version will get it tomorrow.
_██_
(°ᴗƪ)
 
The following users thanked this post: the Dark Lord

Offline Maverick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
Re:ICQ and unofficial messengers?
« Reply #4 on: 27 12 2018, 04:16:03 »
Just update to latest dev version and you get new ICQ protocol.

It currently supports only sending and receiving messages so you can only chat with contacts that are already on your list.

Stable version will get it tomorrow.

This is very good News to hear!

Does this mean i cant add new Contacts? (which is not an Issue for me)
 

Offline dartraiden

  • Beta Tester
  • *****
  • Posts: 759
  • Country: ru
  • Karma: 26
  • Version Info
Re: ICQ and unofficial messengers?
« Reply #5 on: 27 12 2018, 11:17:43 »
Yes, because search and user auth not yet implemented. But you can do this via official client.
_██_
(°ᴗƪ)
 

Offline the Dark LordTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 0
Re: ICQ and unofficial messengers?
« Reply #6 on: 27 12 2018, 14:18:42 »
Funny... it just kicked me out of the ICQ...
And even ping icq.com command  goes with "Request timed out." for five minutes straight now.
Although my friend on qip is still online... WTF just happened?

EDIT... it just started working again... strange shit is happening around...
I have only few ICQ contacts left, because most of my friends emigrated to Skype... where I refuse to go... and the ICQ is still trying to make this comunication even more inconvenient?
« Last Edit: 27 12 2018, 14:23:57 by the Dark Lord »
 

Offline dartraiden

  • Beta Tester
  • *****
  • Posts: 759
  • Country: ru
  • Karma: 26
  • Version Info
Re: ICQ and unofficial messengers?
« Reply #7 on: 28 12 2018, 00:56:43 »
_██_
(°ᴗƪ)
 
The following users thanked this post: mida

Offline sst500

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: ICQ and unofficial messengers?
« Reply #8 on: 28 12 2018, 10:53:29 »
Возможно как то запустить новый модуль ICQ, на стабильной версии Miranda (0.95.10)?
Или когда выйдет новый модуль ICQ для Miranda (0.95.10)?
----
Is it possible to launch a new ICQ module on a stable version of Miranda (0.95.10)?
Or when will the new ICQ module for Miranda (0.95.10) be released?
 

Offline dartraiden

  • Beta Tester
  • *****
  • Posts: 759
  • Country: ru
  • Karma: 26
  • Version Info
Re: ICQ and unofficial messengers?
« Reply #9 on: 28 12 2018, 11:34:23 »
No.
Soon.
_██_
(°ᴗƪ)
 
The following users thanked this post: sst500

Offline sst500

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: ICQ and unofficial messengers?
« Reply #10 on: 28 12 2018, 13:04:40 »
dartraiden,

Когда выйдит стабильный модуль ICQ, он будет работать на 0.95.10 или для его работы будет нужна НОВАЯ стабильная версия Miranda?
----
When the stable ICQ module comes out, will it work at 0.95.10 or will it need a NEW stable version of Miranda?
 

Offline ghazan

  • Miranda NG founder
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 585
  • Country: ru
  • Karma: 44
  • Jabber ID
Re: ICQ and unofficial messengers?
« Reply #11 on: 28 12 2018, 13:15:27 »
When the stable ICQ module comes out, will it work at 0.95.10 or will it need a NEW stable version of Miranda?
Current dev build will be deployed as new stable version, perhaps closer to Sunday, because it's actively patched now
 
The following users thanked this post: lokapal, sst500, Cassiebsg

Offline unshaven

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: ICQ and unofficial messengers?
« Reply #12 on: 28 12 2018, 13:41:26 »
The ICQ message claims that third party messengers will no longer be supported, and here people say their new thing requires to give them one's mobile number to ""protect"" the account...
I guess there's no way getting around the last aspect at least?
 

Offline dartraiden

  • Beta Tester
  • *****
  • Posts: 759
  • Country: ru
  • Karma: 26
  • Version Info
Re: ICQ and unofficial messengers?
« Reply #13 on: 28 12 2018, 14:38:02 »
Latest Russian laws oblige messengers (all that are available in Russia) to identify users.
Most likely next year, all users will have to bind a phone number

Foreign messengers can ignore the law and be blocked in Russia, but ICQ belongs to a Russian company Mail.ru, so they just can not ignore the law.
_██_
(°ᴗƪ)
 

Offline Maverick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
Re: ICQ and unofficial messengers?
« Reply #14 on: 28 12 2018, 15:37:00 »
What about those who dont have a Mobile Phone? Im not from Russia, nor do i have a Mobile Phone. I tried once to contact the Support, because i cant change my Password without providing a Mobilenumber.

Will the Post delay get fixed? By the two Links above it seem, that the new Plugin is using the Webclient and no direct Server Connection? At least we can keep using ICQ. (to me its more important)