Forum for English speaking Miranda NG users > Support/Help

Skinning Miranda - tips?

(1/3) > >>

Aztek:
Hi there,
I'm planning to spend some of my free time to skin miranda. I fell in love in fan concept for project neon's skype and im gonna try my best to 'translate it' into miranda's gears.
here - image was too big to put in in [ imgs ] ;) http://s5.ifotos.pl/img/windows-1_aaqarnw.jpg
(sorry, i didn't manage to find orginal author)

For now im gonna ask for some tips from more experienced users. I've some experience skinning miranda, but i've worked only for changes to tweak it to be more simple, minimalistic in cool way (my magnum opus - http://s5.ifotos.pl/img/mriandapn_aaqarsx.png kinda get old :( ).
I know our plugins for skinning (both for contacts list and msg window) are kinda stuck somewhere in 2002 and it's shame, but let's talk about some problems here.

I don't see many problems with Contact List in this case, buuuuuuut...
1. Is it possible to make nice looking circle avatars (profile pics)? There is an option to round them, but result is ugly AF. - http://s10.ifotos.pl/img/Zrzut-ekr_aaqaxes.png
2. Any tips to make color strokes on avatars to show current status or new msgs? I tried to make new icon pack for protocol and make its icons bigger, then use it as an overlay, but everthing thats not 16px x 16px doesnt work.
3. Show last msg and author in 1st line below name?
4. Icon to notify that mentioned msg was seen?
5. I remember there was an option to dock contact list to msg window, is it gone now? would be useful.
6. Ok, i don't even dream about getting your profile pic to show it in the corner ;D but i have an idea for this.

Ok, now serious problem - msg window. As far as i know the best plugin for skinning is TabSRMM - which is also terrible! No transparency, hard to get any good looking effect.
The biggest problem i see is to make that texting box. Any tricks to get rid of borders, add icons? Use some java scripts or something there?