Author Topic: Update checking already started!  (Read 11211 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline calabarTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: 1
Update checking already started!
« on: 15 12 2013, 11:07:24 »
I've this problem from Miranda NG 0.94.5

After a long period where Miranda NG didn't report any update, I decided to manually launch the update check, and the answer was, as reported in the title:

Quote (selected)
Plugin Updater
Update checking already started!

So I checked the Miranda NG website and I realized that a new update (0.94.6, the present release) was out.
I manually update Miranda NG hoping that the new release would fix the problem, but whe I try to check for updates, I continue to receive the message reported above.

I didn't change nothing in my profile in that period, so my hypotheses are:
- there is some sort of bug in the plgin updater
- there is some incompatibility among some setting in my profile and the new versions of Miranda NG

Here you can find my Version Info.
« Last Edit: 15 12 2013, 11:17:50 by Wishmaster »
 

Offline ghazan

  • Miranda NG founder
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 733
  • Country: ru
  • Karma: 47
  • Jabber ID
Re: Update checking already started!
« Reply #1 on: 15 12 2013, 11:30:43 »
add a CrashDumper plugin and try to obtain a crash log
 

Offline watcher

  • Miranda NG support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1906
  • Country: il
  • Karma: 157
  • Version Info
Re: Update checking already started!
« Reply #2 on: 15 12 2013, 11:35:00 »
If CrashDumper wouldn't show any crash - Netlog would help us.
Пожалуйста, внимательно прочтите правила постинга перед тем, как открыть новую тему.
Please read forum rules.
 

Offline calabarTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: 1
Re: Update checking already started!
« Reply #3 on: 15 12 2013, 11:55:54 »
Thanks.
I added the netlog to the previous linked page.

About the crashlog, the application don't crash. Do you need it anyway?
 

Offline watcher

  • Miranda NG support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1906
  • Country: il
  • Karma: 157
  • Version Info
Re: Update checking already started!
« Reply #4 on: 15 12 2013, 14:48:37 »
I added the netlog to the previous linked page.

Somehow PluginUpdater is not in the log at all, can you please make sure that it's checked (as seen in the attached screenshot) and please try to check for update manually.
« Last Edit: 19 12 2013, 11:49:51 by watcher »
Пожалуйста, внимательно прочтите правила постинга перед тем, как открыть новую тему.
Please read forum rules.
 

Offline calabarTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: 1
Re: Update checking already started!
« Reply #5 on: 15 12 2013, 16:23:40 »
Very strange, I can see the plugin updater is checked by default.
I updated the netlog file, ensuring the updater plugin has been flaggd.
I added a complete netlog and a netlog including miranda core and plugin updater only.
 

Offline calabarTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: 1
Re: Update checking already started!
« Reply #6 on: 17 12 2013, 14:25:11 »
Are the last netlogs I provided good?
 

Offline watcher

  • Miranda NG support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1906
  • Country: il
  • Karma: 157
  • Version Info
Re: Update checking already started!
« Reply #7 on: 19 12 2013, 09:22:59 »
Are the last netlogs I provided good?

Sadly no - no useful info, it's just silent, silent crash maybe...
Пожалуйста, внимательно прочтите правила постинга перед тем, как открыть новую тему.
Please read forum rules.
 

Offline Robyer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1082
  • Country: cz
  • Karma: 60
    • Robyer.cz website
  • Version Info
Re: Update checking already started!
« Reply #8 on: 19 12 2013, 11:06:29 »
Are you sure you are capturing that data from the START of Miranda? Try to press "save as default" or load plugin updater on-the-fly AFTER start (when you have enabled this logging).
I was developing mainly Facebook, Omegle, Steam, Dummy and MobileState plugins. Now I'm retired. Goodbye, everyone. ~ You can still find me on Facebook.
 

Offline calabarTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: 1
Re: Update checking already started!
« Reply #9 on: 19 12 2013, 12:35:43 »
Thanks.

Sadly no - no useful info, it's just silent, silent crash maybe...
I'll provide a crashreport then. Stay tuned.

Are you sure you are capturing that data from the START of Miranda? Try to press "save as default" or load plugin updater on-the-fly AFTER start (when you have enabled this logging).
I starded Miranda offline, enabled the the log, connect Miranda (changing status to online), forced the seach for plugin updates, disconnect Miranda, (changing status to offline), copy the netlog and upload it.
I thought it was enough, but if I need to log from the start of Miranda I can do it (but the netlog file is created only after I switch Miranda to online status, so I think it is not much useful).
 

Offline Robyer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1082
  • Country: cz
  • Karma: 60
    • Robyer.cz website
  • Version Info
Re: Update checking already started!
« Reply #10 on: 19 12 2013, 13:26:46 »
Online status of protocols doesn't matter. Log is created when there is something to log.

What you did is this:
... start miranda
... miranda started
... all plugins loaded
... plugin updater automatically checks for updates (if enabled that)
--- now you open options and enable logging and start logging
... there is nothing to log, because PU update check already started
... you press "check for updates" and PU does nothing except showing popup, because update check already started
... there are no network requests from PU anymore => there is no log file created

You must start logging before PU is started (or before starts automatic update check).
I was developing mainly Facebook, Omegle, Steam, Dummy and MobileState plugins. Now I'm retired. Goodbye, everyone. ~ You can still find me on Facebook.
 

Offline watcher

  • Miranda NG support
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1906
  • Country: il
  • Karma: 157
  • Version Info
Re: Update checking already started!
« Reply #11 on: 19 12 2013, 14:13:44 »
I starded Miranda offline, enabled the the log

There we go - there is a problem :)

Quote from: wiki
If you need to save your settings for future usage, you need to press Save as default button, otherwise these settings will remain only during the current session.
Пожалуйста, внимательно прочтите правила постинга перед тем, как открыть новую тему.
Please read forum rules.
 

Offline calabarTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: 1
Re: Update checking already started!
« Reply #12 on: 20 12 2013, 07:32:20 »
What I mean is that, even if I click on the "Save as Default" button, close Miranda and then open it, the netlog file is written only when I switch Miranda online (I did that in the past more and more time).
So I think that any thing that will be done before switching Miranda online would have not been logged anyway.
Anyway, to avoid any problem, I'll produce a new netlog.

PS: Robyer, the sequence is not exactly that one, but it is similar. ;)

I'll provide all the logs soon.



Post Merge: 20 12 2013, 09:41:59
I updated the netlog but I was not able to obtain a crashlog.
For comfort, i repeat the link: click.

An interesting thing.
This time happens a new behaviour (not so new to say the true: it happens when the problem rises the first times, but don't happens in the last weeks): the first time I check for updates, the result is not the usual message "Update checking already started!" but as expexted "Checking new updates...". Unfortunately this message is not followed by the one that inform me that there are not updates (maybe a crash happens at this point?).
If I try again, it behaves as usual: "Update checking already started!".
Maybe this can be useful providing extra informations.

PS: it seems I was wrong: netlog file is created even if miranda is offline.
Clearly something changes from the last time I did a netlog!  ;D

As soon as I setted the log as default and closed Miranda, has been created a netlog file containing these three lines:
Quote (selected)
[10.22.56 ICQ] Info-Update must die.
[10.22.56 ICQ] Info-Update thread ended.
[10.22.56 (NULL)] ICQ: Protocol instance 'ICQ' destroyed.
It seems that the update plugin hangs and have to be terminated when Miranda closes.
« Last Edit: 20 12 2013, 10:01:22 by calabar »
 

Offline calabarTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: 1
Re: Update checking already started!
« Reply #13 on: 27 12 2013, 08:16:43 »
Maybe, as my last two posts has been merged, Robyer and watcher didn't noticed the informations I added some times ago.
So.. a little "up" for my new netlogs!  ;D
 

Offline calabarTopic starter

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: 1
Re: Update checking already started!
« Reply #14 on: 07 01 2014, 10:52:06 »
I'm still here!  ;D
Did you find something strange in my netlog?