Miranda NG Official Community Forum

Forum for English speaking Miranda NG users => Support/Help => Topic started by: calabar on 15 12 2013, 11:07:24

Title: Update checking already started!
Post by: calabar on 15 12 2013, 11:07:24
I've this problem from Miranda NG 0.94.5

After a long period where Miranda NG didn't report any update, I decided to manually launch the update check, and the answer was, as reported in the title:

Quote (selected)
Plugin Updater
Update checking already started!

So I checked the Miranda NG website and I realized that a new update (0.94.6, the present release) was out.
I manually update Miranda NG hoping that the new release would fix the problem, but whe I try to check for updates, I continue to receive the message reported above.

I didn't change nothing in my profile in that period, so my hypotheses are:
- there is some sort of bug in the plgin updater
- there is some incompatibility among some setting in my profile and the new versions of Miranda NG

Here (http://calabar.altervista.org/Miranda/miranda.htm) you can find my Version Info.
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: ghazan on 15 12 2013, 11:30:43
add a CrashDumper (http://miranda-ng.org/distr/stable/x32/Plugins/crashdumper.zip) plugin and try to obtain a crash log
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: watcher on 15 12 2013, 11:35:00
If CrashDumper wouldn't show any crash - Netlog (http://wiki.miranda-ng.org/Network_log) would help us.
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: calabar on 15 12 2013, 11:55:54
Thanks.
I added the netlog to the previous linked page.

About the crashlog, the application don't crash. Do you need it anyway?
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: watcher on 15 12 2013, 14:48:37
I added the netlog to the previous linked page.

Somehow PluginUpdater is not in the log at all, can you please make sure that it's checked (as seen in the attached screenshot) and please try to check for update manually.
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: calabar on 15 12 2013, 16:23:40
Very strange, I can see the plugin updater is checked by default.
I updated the netlog file, ensuring the updater plugin has been flaggd.
I added a complete netlog and a netlog including miranda core and plugin updater only.
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: calabar on 17 12 2013, 14:25:11
Are the last netlogs I provided good?
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: watcher on 19 12 2013, 09:22:59
Are the last netlogs I provided good?

Sadly no - no useful info, it's just silent, silent crash maybe...
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: Robyer on 19 12 2013, 11:06:29
Are you sure you are capturing that data from the START of Miranda? Try to press "save as default" or load plugin updater on-the-fly AFTER start (when you have enabled this logging).
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: calabar on 19 12 2013, 12:35:43
Thanks.

Sadly no - no useful info, it's just silent, silent crash maybe...
I'll provide a crashreport then. Stay tuned.

Are you sure you are capturing that data from the START of Miranda? Try to press "save as default" or load plugin updater on-the-fly AFTER start (when you have enabled this logging).
I starded Miranda offline, enabled the the log, connect Miranda (changing status to online), forced the seach for plugin updates, disconnect Miranda, (changing status to offline), copy the netlog and upload it.
I thought it was enough, but if I need to log from the start of Miranda I can do it (but the netlog file is created only after I switch Miranda to online status, so I think it is not much useful).
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: Robyer on 19 12 2013, 13:26:46
Online status of protocols doesn't matter. Log is created when there is something to log.

What you did is this:
... start miranda
... miranda started
... all plugins loaded
... plugin updater automatically checks for updates (if enabled that)
--- now you open options and enable logging and start logging
... there is nothing to log, because PU update check already started
... you press "check for updates" and PU does nothing except showing popup, because update check already started
... there are no network requests from PU anymore => there is no log file created

You must start logging before PU is started (or before starts automatic update check).
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: watcher on 19 12 2013, 14:13:44
I starded Miranda offline, enabled the the log

There we go - there is a problem :)

Quote from: wiki
If you need to save your settings for future usage, you need to press Save as default button, otherwise these settings will remain only during the current session.
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: calabar on 20 12 2013, 07:32:20
What I mean is that, even if I click on the "Save as Default" button, close Miranda and then open it, the netlog file is written only when I switch Miranda online (I did that in the past more and more time).
So I think that any thing that will be done before switching Miranda online would have not been logged anyway.
Anyway, to avoid any problem, I'll produce a new netlog.

PS: Robyer, the sequence is not exactly that one, but it is similar. ;)

I'll provide all the logs soon.



Post Merge: 20 12 2013, 09:41:59
I updated the netlog but I was not able to obtain a crashlog.
For comfort, i repeat the link: click (http://calabar.altervista.org/Miranda/miranda.htm).

An interesting thing.
This time happens a new behaviour (not so new to say the true: it happens when the problem rises the first times, but don't happens in the last weeks): the first time I check for updates, the result is not the usual message "Update checking already started!" but as expexted "Checking new updates...". Unfortunately this message is not followed by the one that inform me that there are not updates (maybe a crash happens at this point?).
If I try again, it behaves as usual: "Update checking already started!".
Maybe this can be useful providing extra informations.

PS: it seems I was wrong: netlog file is created even if miranda is offline.
Clearly something changes from the last time I did a netlog!  ;D

As soon as I setted the log as default and closed Miranda, has been created a netlog file containing these three lines:
Quote (selected)
[10.22.56 ICQ] Info-Update must die.
[10.22.56 ICQ] Info-Update thread ended.
[10.22.56 (NULL)] ICQ: Protocol instance 'ICQ' destroyed.
It seems that the update plugin hangs and have to be terminated when Miranda closes.
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: calabar on 27 12 2013, 08:16:43
Maybe, as my last two posts has been merged, Robyer and watcher didn't noticed the informations I added some times ago.
So.. a little "up" for my new netlogs!  ;D
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: calabar on 07 01 2014, 10:52:06
I'm still here!  ;D
Did you find something strange in my netlog?
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: watcher on 07 01 2014, 11:17:49
calabar,  weird thing is - there is nothing unusual in your logs. Try to start Miranda lile this:

Code: [Select]
Miranda32.exe /debug
This may uncover some silent crash and then you may get a crashlog.
Title: Odp: Update checking already started!
Post by: Robyer on 07 01 2014, 14:57:36
Well, this is important part from your netlog. Question is why it don't receive correctly whole data...

Code: [Select]
[10.24.08 PluginUpdater] Connection request to miranda-ng.org:80 (Flags 1)....
[10.24.08 PluginUpdater] (03909DA0) Connecting to server miranda-ng.org:80....
[10.24.08 PluginUpdater] (03909DA0) Connecting to ip 144.76.235.16:80 ....
[10.24.08 PluginUpdater] (1344) Connected to miranda-ng.org:80
[10.24.08 PluginUpdater] (03909DA0:1344) Data sent
GET /distr/stable/x32/hashes.zip HTTP/1.1
User-Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1)
Cache-Control: no-cache
Pragma: no-cache
Accept-Encoding: deflate, gzip
Host: miranda-ng.org
Connection: Keep-Alive
Proxy-Connection: Keep-Alive

[10.24.08 PluginUpdater] (03909DA0:1344) Data received
HTTP/1.1 200 OK
[10.24.08 PluginUpdater] (03909DA0:1344) Data received
Server: nginx/1.4.4
Date: Fri, 20 Dec 2013 09:24:17 GMT
Content-Type: application/zip
Content-Length: 7611
Last-Modified: Sat, 30 Nov 2013 08:09:36 GMT
Connection: keep-alive
Keep-Alive: timeout=20
ETag: "52999d40-1dbb"
Expires: Fri, 20 Dec 2013 10:09:17 GMT
Cache-Control: max-age=2700
Accept-Ranges: bytes

[10.24.08 PluginUpdater] (03909DA0:1344) Data received
PK
[10.24.08 PluginUpdater] (03909DA0:1344) Data received
÷߼>
[10.24.08 PluginUpdater] (03909DA0:1344) Connection closed internal
[10.24.08 PluginUpdater] (03909DA0:4294967295) Connection closed

Maybe ghazan will guess something from it?
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: watcher on 07 01 2014, 17:00:09
Robyer, ghazan said to run it with /debug key.
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: calabar on 08 01 2014, 11:35:11
Ok, I followed the instructions and I obtained a crashlog.

You can find the crashlog in the the usual page: click (http://"http://calabar.altervista.org/Miranda/miranda.htm").
There are two "crashs" in the zip file: I obtained the first one as soon as I started miranda. At the second try I was successfull to start Miranda, but as soon as I clicked on "Check for plugins updates", Miranda crashes again.
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: watcher on 08 01 2014, 14:11:00
calabar, ok - now we are starting to get somewhere! There is a log, now we need to repeat it with symbols, read here (http://wiki.miranda-ng.org/index.php?title=Crash_reports#Automatic_method) please, automatic method.

Quote (selected)
     Go to Options → Services → Plugin Updater → "Files source"
    Select Development version with debug symbols option and click OK.
    Choose Check for plugin updates from the Main menu, click Update and wait till Miranda asks for restart.

If pluginupdater is not working, we'll have to use manual method. It's a bit hard to manually update all plugins, so you can start only from the core and pluginupdater manual update (and unpacking archive with symbols to Miranda's main program folder).
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: calabar on 08 01 2014, 18:03:41
I'm updating Miranda manually, so I'm well-organised with page of links and one click download!  ;D

The only problem is that in the Miranda Download page I can see the core with debug symbols but I can't see where to get the plugins with debug symbols.
Or maybe I misunderstood?
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: watcher on 08 01 2014, 18:40:42
calabar, the plugin and symbol should be from the same compilation - a pair, this is why it's important to update plugin and symbol, otherwise log will still be empty.
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: watcher on 08 01 2014, 20:36:27
The only problem is that in the Miranda Download page I can see the core with debug symbols but I can't see where to get the plugins with debug symbols.
Or maybe I misunderstood?

It's one big archive with all the symbols of all plugins.
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: calabar on 08 01 2014, 22:06:38
Ok, I misunderstood!  ;D
Symbols are separated files! I thought that there was a special version of the plugins including symbols.
If I understood correctly, I have to extract the symbols in the Miranda directory instead than in the plugins one.

Another one questions: my plugins should be already updated at the last stable version. Is it ok or should I update to the "Current version"? (if I'm not wrong, the current version should be ok).
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: watcher on 08 01 2014, 22:12:17
Another one questions: my plugins should be already updated at the last stable version. Is it ok or should I update to the "Current version"

No - stable is good.  Just take the same symbols - stable.
Title: Odp: Update checking already started!
Post by: calabar on 08 01 2014, 22:50:15
Ok, here (http://"http://calabar.altervista.org/Miranda/miranda.htm") is the new crashlog!
Hope it has been done correctly.
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: watcher on 08 01 2014, 22:56:13
Ok, here is the new crashlog!
Hope it has been done correctly.

Yes! We have the correct log, tomorrow i will show it to ghazan.
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: watcher on 09 01 2014, 11:25:52
calabar, can you please delete Plugin Updates folder?
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: watcher on 09 01 2014, 11:51:15
calabar, ghazan looked at it an made an update (attached below). Try it please.
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: calabar on 09 01 2014, 12:18:02
I've tried it with with my Miranda (not the test version with debug symbols), and it immediately found updates for all the protocols, the Dbx_3x and the PluginUpdater (the last one is very strange... this one should be the last version, isn't it?).

That's strange because my Miranda 0.94.6 should be already updated.
Plugins updater is correctly setted for the stable version.

I'll wait some answer before updating!

Anyway, it works, at least!  ;D
Thanks all!
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: watcher on 09 01 2014, 12:45:37
I've tried it with with my Miranda (not the test version with debug symbols), and it immediately found updates for all the protocols, the Dbx_3x and the PluginUpdater (the last one is very strange... this one should be the last version, isn't it?).

No - it's all ok, Dbx_3x - because in code of a new updater is to kill it (we got rid of this database driver) and PluginUpdate itself it "updated" to older version, cause it verifies the hashes on specific repo an syncs with it, any version that differs it will see as "needed to be updated", this way we can prevent all the "zoo" of different plugins and their versions that existed on Miranda IM.

So, you can return the new version, remove the checkbox from pluginupdater component in updates window until the next stable, then you can update it all, including updater itself.

Post Merge: 09 01 2014, 12:48:58
And thanks for a bug-report!  :THUMBS UP:
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: calabar on 09 01 2014, 14:41:49
Thanks to you for solving my problem!  ;)

I'll update all except the PluginUpdater, and I'll wait for the next release for a complete update (is there any scheduled date?).
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: watcher on 09 01 2014, 14:45:25
is there any scheduled date?

I think it will be pretty soon, we never schedule a date, just when all the features of specific builds are ready and no nasty bugs are found and we are almost there.

Post Merge: 09 01 2014, 14:47:05
Thanks to you for solving my problem!  ;)

You are welcome!  :DRINK:
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: calabar on 09 01 2014, 14:48:58
I've noticed that the update for the protocol plugins is due to the protocol icons.

I use personalized icons and the update overwrite that.
As soon as I restore my icons, the plugin updater detected new updates for the protocols again.
Is there a way to avoid that?
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: watcher on 09 01 2014, 14:56:45
I use personalized icons and the update overwrite that.
As soon as I restore my icons, the plugin updater detected new updates for the protocols again.
Is there a way to avoid that?

Nowdays - very easy, just remove checkboxes from protocol icon-sets components in updater window and leave it this way, then automatic updates won't even check for it. If you manually check for updates will show you the window with unchecked components.


Post Merge: 09 01 2014, 12:59:37
And with unchecked icons you can update protocols if it asks you to do it - it won't overwrite the icons.
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: calabar on 09 01 2014, 17:37:08
I didn't noticed that the update plugin listed the icons, not the protocols!
Ok, unchecked, thanks!

Maybe an option in the plugin updater page to disable icons update would be more comfortable.
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: watcher on 09 01 2014, 17:50:23
calabar,  there was an option not to update icons - but we chose this way - because there are some plugins (such as fingerprint) that wasn't getting updates with all the icons turned off, user didn't know that update even exists and it would create problematic situation. So it's better to uncheck the unwanted components in per user set-up.
Title: Re: Update checking already started!
Post by: calabar on 09 01 2014, 18:37:21
Good point!  ;D
So I remember correctly that there was such option... at first I looked for it but I didn't find it!

greetings!